The Oscars Were Boring

image0

The Oscars were dreadfully boring last night. I mean, usually it’s not the most exciting night of television, but last night just dragged on and on.

I’m not sure what they were thinking with the past best actor and actress winners giving their monologues directed toward the nominees. Probably that it would be touching and a Miss America style passing of the title. But it just came across as boring and unnecessary.

In just about every category, I was relieved to hear “And the Oscar goes to…” because it meant that the fifteen minutes of build up had finished and they were actually going to get down to business.

And Hugh Jackman was okay, I guess. But he wasn’t even there half the time. I’m starting to wonder why the Oscars has a host at all.

Ben Stiller wasn’t funny…again. He just came across as creepy and strange…again. At least he got a slight smile out of me when he did his green screen floating head routine a few years ago. This year, I just wanted to change the channel.

For the most part, I think the winners deserved their Oscars. I saw Slumdog Millionaire the other night, and it was fantastic. But the show itself needs to become more relevant, instead of relying on hours of filler to fabricate anticipation.

And they need to bring Billy Crystal back.

~ by truestory242 on February 23, 2009.

Leave a comment